It was Diwali

Coffee and Canvas
2 min readJun 21, 2021

--

The year was 2020. This Diwali was special. It wasn’t special because it was different than our whole idea of Diwali. It was special because we all were feeling the same thing in unison. It was special because this time Diwali wasn’t special at all. It was like every other day. It was 11 in the morning, I was standing on the balcony, wrapped in my thoughts, is when something happened. Something that made this day a little different than yesterday.

I decided to bring diwali to my notebook ❤

Every time I talk about nature I feel a bit pretentious, privileged. I always had a roof up my head, never liked the idea of camping or living a life closer to nature. Well, nature gave us everything. It gave us everything without a question and we took it for granted, of course, we all are aware of it by now. We cutthe trees, killed the animals, and worst, we put them behind the bars for our amusement.

Today when I was standing on the balcony, on my 7th day of staying home, isolated, a sparrow came to say hi. It looked around and jumped from one railing to another. Then it came back and sat in front of me for a while. Maybe it could see it in my eyes, the horror of being in a cage, the desperation to be free. Maybe it was far too relatable for him so it stayed a little longer to share condolences.

--

--